What Happened To Customer Service?

What happened to customer service? Are we even allowed  to talk about it anymore?  What  happened to the days of friendly employees, knowledgeable staff and the general thinking that, “the customer is always right?” It seems, today we find grumpy employees, clueless staff and an attitude that suggests you’re a jerk unless you tip.

At one time I vowed to write a book entitled, “can I speak to the manager?” It seemed I was asking this question with more and more frequency.  Have you ever found yourself on the phone with a customer service representative that couldn’t care less what your situation is? I finally reached a point where I almost immediately asked to speak to a supervisor if I wasn’t receiving the help I needed. It wasn’t long before I realized it wasn’t just the employees who lacked proper customer service skills. I have since decided the name of my book will be, “can I speak to a manager who cares?”

We already established that by being in business for yourself you are an underdog. No matter what field you are in you have to determine how to differentiate yourself from the competition. It seems to me, if you are in the service industry, having excellent customer service would be the best place to start.

Truett Cathy

Truett Cathy, founder of Chick-fil-A fast food chain once said,

We must motivate ourselves to do our very best, and by our example lead others to do their best as well.”

Now, I don’t know about you but I don’t really expect great customer service when I go into a fast food restaurant. But, here is an example that no matter what business you’re in good customer service begins at the top. If you walk into any Chick-fil-A in the country you will be greeted with a smile and the words ”my pleasure!”

I don’t care if you’re selling burgers, designing websites or driving a taxi, if you are in business for yourself one of the best investments you can make is to ensure that everyone involved with your business understands what great customer service is.

American Underdog

Published in: on March 22, 2010 at 2:32 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://americanunderdog.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/what-happened-to-customer-service/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

